Posted in My Journey, Woolly Wonders

The Decking the Halls (2016)

December is officially here! The tree is up and the mistletoe is hung. So to spread some Christmas cheer, I thought I’d share with you all how I’ve chosen to deck the halls this year. 😊 

The Tree! 🎄

Mickey & Minnie snuggled up together at the top of the tree. ❤️
I must admit I love our Christmas tree. It’s one of the first joint purchases my boyfriend and I made. It’s only a little tree, but this year it’s full to the brim! I’ve still got my beloved Disney Tsum Tsums from last year, but this year we’ve also added a touch of Lego and even a touch of musical theatre to our collection! Plus I’ve handmade a lot of the decorations, so our tree is very personal. Every decoration has a story to tell. ❤️

The Mistletoe.

I love mistletoe. It’s so festive and super cute. I like to hang this sweet felt mistletoe over the bed for when me and my boyfriend kiss goodnight. ❤️

Elf on the Shelf. 

Last year I knitted my boyfriend a Briony Elf as part of his Christmas Eve box. (Complete with retro  Briony blonde streak.) She’s currently perched on the CD rack, hopefully staying out of mischief.


The Paper Craft Success! 

I love it when an attempt at an Internet tutorial actually works out!
I made this snowflake out of printing paper and sticky tape! I will admit, I was rather proud of how it turned out. I’ll be sure to share the video tutorial I made it from over on my Facebook page, for anyone who fancies giving it ago. Definitely worth a try! It looks rather impressive and I made it in a morning. ❄️

Hogwarts Baubles!

Showing a little bit of house pride or pretending the bauble is Newt Scamander… who knows?
The beady-eyed readers among you may have already spotted these in the previous picture. How amazing are they though?! 😍😍😍 This great find was from Primark and I’m so happy with them. I love them and they were such a baragain too! Very happy to be adding them to my decoration stash this year. 

My Advent Calendar.

Yes, that is a Tsum Tsum of Santa Claws riding the sleigh.

This is one for those of you who haven’t already seen the glory of this on my Instagram. This is my tea advent calendar, handmade by my very thoughtful boyfriend. He’s chosen a different tea bag for every day, with not one being the same. I know among my readers I do have some fellow tea enthusiasts, so if your interested, I’m posting pictures of my teas daily on my Instagram page. Either search for me, brionymarshallauthor, or search for the hashtag #twentyfivesdayoftea!

Christmas Cards.


I had a little play at card making again this year. To my surprise Poundland had an amazing range of festive paper craft bits, so here are a few of my designs. It saddens me that Christmas cards are becoming a dying tradition, displaying my cards has always been a staple of my Christmas decorating routine.

The Wreath.

No door looks complete without a wreath at Christmas, and my bedroom door is no exception. Some of you may remember this little wonder from last year’s festive post. As you can probably imagine, a lot of my decorations are of the woolly variety. 

And there we have it! I hope I’ve helped you get into the festive spirit. I’d love to see some of your decorations, so please tag me in any of your christmassy snaps! And until next time, may your days be merry & bright everyone!

– B xo

Author:

Briony Marshall is an author from the West Midlands in the UK. She is a graduate from the University of Wolverhampton with a degree in Creative & Professional Writing with English. Briony currently lives at home with her Mom, Dad and boyfriend. When Briony is not writing, she’s knitting and when she’s not knitting, she’s drinking coffee. Her debut novel, cosy, romantic, knitting comedy: Unravelled, is available now and Briony looks forward to the adventures this new chapter will bring.

One thought on “The Decking the Halls (2016)

Leave a Reply

