Posted in My Journey, News & Events, Unravelled

May Wrap Up: The Author Talk Editon.

Hello June, it’s so nice to have you here! ☀️But, before we all get too carried away with summer lovin’, I want to take a moment to talk about my May. And what a May it was! 

Three events. Three different crowds. Three very valuable and enjoyable experiences. 

A huge thank you to every single one of you who made it to one of my events. Your on going support is super amazing, it honestly means the world to me. 💖

Sedgley Library Talk. 


This event was a childhood dream realised. I’ve always loved libraries, so getting to do a named event at one that has been such a huge part of my life was just phenomenal. The staff were lovely and very welcoming. The audience were focused and involved. And between them they made my talk a sold out event! We had a great chat, with my new event structure going down a treat. The Q&A section of this event was brilliant with the audience asking a range of interesting and thought provoking questions. We even ended proceedings with a raffle, coffee and cake! (In which I won a book! 😂) Thank you to everyone at Dudley Libraries for everything that day and I look forward to returning in the near future. 😊

Yarn Shop Day

Yarn Shop Day was a lot of fun. The atmosphere at the shop was fantastic; everyone was in a jolly mood, happily showing support for their local wool shop and the chosen charity of the day: The Mutiple Sclerosis Trust. I think my favourite part was meeting so many of my fellow wool sisters at the drop in knit and knatter and the nostalgia it created being back in that environment. I even got to speak to people I hadn’t seen in years, which was wonderful. Helen at Beacon Crafts did an amazing job generating interest and entertaining customers. It was a great day all round with goodie bags , special offers, coffee and cake. I really had a great time and am already looking forward to next year! 

The Wool-ves Yarnival


The Yarnival opened my eyes to a very new world of wool! From vintage pattern stalls, yarn bombing groups and beautiful hand dyed wool hanks, to spinning wheels, knitted maps and weaving looms, the Yarnival showcased such a variety of talent, I was grateful to be part of it. I especially enjoyed tailoring my talks for this event to include more of my own knitting experiences and I got to hear about the experiences of others, which is always a pleasure. Whilst I was there I also got to join in with some fab things along the way. You can see me pictured above with a granny square I actually crocheted at the event as part of a charity blanket. I also found out about a local yarn bomb that I was invited to take part in and I got my hands on a pair of huge knitting needles! (Perfect for rugs and fast grownong blankets, I can’t wait to give them a whirl.) Considering this was the first ever event of it’s kind, I think the Hembra Craft ladies did a fab job and set great potential for the future of the Yarnival as a reoccurring event. I wish you the very best of luck! 

Looking back over my May experiences, I know it may sound cliched, but I learnt a lot. From how interacting with some of smallest crowds can be just as rewarding as the big ones, to having a fantastic reception by just relaxing and enjoying myself, every event gave me it’s own points to take away.

 All in all these events were a very valuable experience and I look forward to what my future events calendar has in store! 

– B xo

Author:

Briony Marshall is an up and coming author from the West Midlands in the UK. She is a graduate from the University of Wolverhampton with a degree in Creative & Professional Writing with English. Briony currently lives at home with her Mom, Dad and boyfriend. When Briony is not writing she’s knitting and when she’s not knitting she’s drinking coffee. Her debut novel is to be published in 2017 and Briony looks forward to the adventures this will bring.

Leave a Reply

