Posted in The Bookshelf

My 2017 Summer Reading List. 

Guys… I need your help! 

For me the perfect summer’s day consists of a seat in the sun, a cold refreshing drink and a good read. Whether that be on a beach towel by the sea or in a deck chair in the garden, it all sounds like bliss to me as long as I’ve got that book in my hands.  However, with my current read rapidly coming to an end and my TBR pile looming over me like a personal Everest, I’m yet to find my next summer sizzler. And so this is where you come in…

I need your help picking what to read first this summer. And to plunge you all in at the deep end, it’s going to be a holiday read too. (No pressure guys!) I’ve  managed (with the help of my Moma) to whittle down the choices to just six books! (A feet in itself!) But I need your help making that final decision! 

So here are the nominees. I’ll leave a little bit of info about why I’ve chosen them below and also hyperlink you to their Goodreads profiles, in case you are not aquanited yet. (Just click on the title.) You can then vote by posting your choice in the comments. 

I look forward to seeing (and reading) what you choose! 

The Nominees: 

  1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass – I have heard so many good things about this book. In fact last year I feel like this was the book/ series everyone was reading and blogging about. The feminist inside of me is very excited for a female lead fantasy and I love a romance story with a twist. 
  2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – I know you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover but I adore the cover of Fangirl, especially the Zoella Bookclub edition. 💛 Rainbow Rowell is the only author on this list I’ve read before, which I thought was an interesting fact. I enjoyed her World Book Day story, Kindred Spirits, and know that I like her writing style. 
  3. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins – This book was my Mom’s choice and it has been kindly lent to me by her. Her only criticism was it had a slow start, but I’ll be on holiday, so I’ll have time for slow starts. I’ve heard it’s a good crime/ thriller and something to wrap your head around. 
  4. Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon – The blurb for this book is very ambiguous, but that intrigues me. I also know this book has a film coming out very soon and who doesn’t want to join the hype train before it leaves the station?
  5. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – Everyone keeps telling me to watch the Netflix’s series for this,  but I know within my heart I can’t do that until I’ve read the book. I’ve also owned this book since 2007 and still haven’t got around to reading it! Maybe it’s about time I did. 
  6. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – I recently bought a signed edition of Ness’s new novel, Release, so I really want to like the guy. But from where I’m standing right now, I don’t see why I shouldn’t. I feel like this book will be moving but beautiful as that’s the impression I got from the movie trailer and I presume the book will have much more detail. 

Happy Voting! 

– B xo

Author:

Briony Marshall is an up and coming author from the West Midlands in the UK. She is a graduate from the University of Wolverhampton with a degree in Creative & Professional Writing with English. Briony currently lives at home with her Mom, Dad and boyfriend. When Briony is not writing she’s knitting and when she’s not knitting she’s drinking coffee. Her debut novel is to be published in 2017 and Briony looks forward to the adventures this will bring.

3 thoughts on “My 2017 Summer Reading List. 

Leave a Reply

